Sunday, September 24, 2023
HomeNewsNational NewsGanduje Is APC National Chairman, As Emerged Secretary

Ganduje Is APC National Chairman, As Emerged Secretary

Abdullahi Ganduje, the immediate past governor of Kano State, was returned elected as the new chairman of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

The former Governor of Kano State was elected by party’s NEC at a meeting in Abuja on Thursday.

The NEC also elected former Senate spokesman, Ajibola Basiru, from Osun State as National Secretary.

The duo were elected at the 12th NEC meeting of the party held at the Congress Hall of Transcorp Hilton in Abuja.

ALSO READ  Oscars Slap: Netflix Terminates Production Of Will Smith’s Movie

While addressing party leaders after his emergence, Ganduje thanked President Bola Tinubu and promised that internal democracy would prevail in the party during his tenure.

He also pledged to ensure a scientific register of party members and pay utmost attention to election management and conflict resolution.

According to him, there would be level playing field for all party members during party primaries.

Ganduje promised to hit the ground running to ensure victory for the party in all forthcoming governorship elections across the country,

ALSO READ  BREAKING: Buhari extends lockdown of Lagos, Ogun and Abuja again

President Bola Tinubu, Vice President Kashim Shettima, members of the Progressive Governors’ Forum, chieftains of the party in the National Assembly, amongst others were present were present at the NEC meeting.

Addressing the 12th NEC of the party, the President said the APC has won the elections and it is now time to deliver the promises of good governance to the Nigerian people.

The President insisted that the 2023 elections was the best election in Nigeria’s history.

ALSO READ  Breaking: Sen Smart Adeyemi defeats Melaye, wins Kogi west rerun

Visibly absent at the NEC meeting were ex-President Muhammadu Buhari and former Vice President Yemi Osinbajo. The first National Chairman of the party, Bisi Akande, was however, present.

The NEC meeting followed Wednesday’s session of the APC national caucus.

Mid-July, two members of the party’s National Working Committee (NWC) resigned. Senator Abdullahi Adamu and Senator Iyiola Omisore resigned as the party’s National Chairman and National Secretary respectively.

Spread the love


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments